Steering Committee

Prof Marleen Boelaert


Professor Boelaert is currently Head of the Department of Public Health and Professor of Epidemiology and Control of Infectious Diseases at the Institute of Tropical Medicine Antwerp (Belgium). She has previously worked as the Chair of the Board of Directors at Médicins Sans Frontières. Professor Boelaert completed her MD at the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven (Belgium), and her PhD at Ghent University (Belgium).  

Prof Mary Cameron


Professor Cameron obtained her Bachelor of Science in zoology and PhD in entomology from the University of London. Her current appointment is Professor of Medical Entomology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (UK). Previously, she has worked as a Research Fellow at the Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine (UK), and Postdoctoral Researcher at the University of Oxford (UK). 

Dr Pradeep Das


Dr Das has a Masters of Science from Kanpur University (India) and a PhD from the Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow (India). His current appointment is Scientist G and Director of the Rajendra Memorial Research Institute of Medical Science.  

Prof Aditya Prasad Dash


Professor Dash is the Vice Chancellor of the Central University of Tamil Nadu (India). He has previously served as the Director and Distinguished Scientist at the Institute of Life Sciences, Bhubaneswar (India), and Advisor to the WHO. Professor Dash holds an MSc, PhD and DSc from Utkal University (India).  

Dr N. Devadasan


Dr Devadasan holds an MBBS, and a Masters of Public Health and PhD from the Institute of Tropical Medicine Antwerp (Belgium). He is the co-founder and current Director of the Institute of Public Health Bengaluru (India), where he works on health financing, access to health care and health management. Dr Devadasan worked with the Adivasis of Gudalur for 10 years to build a comprehensive health system, and with the WHO in Orissa and Delhi as head of their communicable disease cluster.   

Dr Raman Gangakhedkar


Dr Gangakhedkar is Head of the Epidemiology and Communicable Diseases Division of the Indian Council of Medical Research. His previous appointments include Director of the National AIDS Research Institute (India). Dr Gangakhedkar obtained his MBBS and DCH from Government Medical College, Aurangabad, before moving to Johns Hopkins University (Baltimore, US) to complete a Masters in Public Health. Dr Gangakhedkar has significant experience researching HIV and AIDS.

Dr Raj Ghosh


Dr Ghosh currently works as the Deputy Director of India Vaccine Delivery at the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. His previous appointments include Technical Director of PATH’s vaccine and drug development and delivery portfolios in India, Bangladesh and Nepal, Regional Coordinator for India’s National Polio Surveillance Project, and Director of the Japanese Encephalitis project at PATH. Dr Ghosh obtained his M.B.B.S from Calcutta National Medical College (India).  

Prof Graham Medley


Professor Medley completed a BSc in biology and computer science at the University of York (UK) before beginning his PhD in Epidemiology at Imperial College London (UK). He is currently Professor of Infectious Disease Modelling at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (UK). Prior to joining LSHTM, he was Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology and Professor Emeritus at the University of Warwick (UK).  

Prof Suman Rijal


Professor Rijal is currently working as the Drugs for Neglected Diseases initiative’s Managing Director of the Regional Office in India. He holds an M.B.B.S. from Calcutta Medical College (India), and a PhD from Ghent University (Belgium). Prior to joining DNDi Professor Rijal was Professor of Internal Medicine and Chief of the Tropical and Infectious Diseases Centre at B.P. Koirala Institute of Health Sciences (Nepal).  

Dr Nupur Roy


Dr Roy holds a Doctor of Public Health and undertook her M.B.B.S. at the University of Calcutta’s Medical College (India). She is currently Additional Director and Head of Kala-Azar and Lymphatic Filariasis at the National Vector Borne Disease Control Programme (India).  

Dr Rashmi Shukla


Dr Shukla is the National Professional Officer for NTDs in the WHO Country Office for India. Dr Shukla obtained her MBBS from Rajendra Medical College, Ranchi (India), and her Masters in Public Health from Lucknow University. She has worked for the WHO since 2001, initially as the Jharkhand State Coordinator for the National Leprosy Elimination Programme. From 2015-17, Dr Shukla assisted Uttar Pradesh in revamping its vector borne disease control and surveillance programmes.

Prof Shyam Sundar


Professor Sundar holds an M.B.B.S and M.D. in medicine from Banaras Hindu University (India). He is currently Professor of Medicine and Programme Director of the Infectious Diseases Research Laboratory at Banaras Hindu University. He has previously served as Head of the Department of Medicine at Banaras Hindu University and Professor in Charge at the Centre of Experimental Medicine and Surgery.  


Dr S. Subramanian


Dr Subramanian obtained his Masters in Statistics from Annamalai University, Chidambaram, Tamil Nadu and later his Master of Science in Health Services Research from the Netherlands Institute of Health Sciences (NIHeS), Rotterdam, before beginning his PhD in Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands. He has more than 35 years of experience on vector-borne disease epidemiology, mathematical modeling and on sampling strategies. He is currently a Senior Scientist, heading the Department of Epidemiology, Biostatistics and Operational Research at the ICMR-Vector Control Research Centre, Puducherry.